Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors


The Level 5 DET or DTLLS Qualification Guide: All You Need to Know

Nauman Farooq

May 02, 2024

Read time : 08 mins

Table of contents

What is the Diploma in Education and Training (DET)?

The Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training (DET), previously called DTLLS, is a nationally recognised advanced-level teaching qualification for the post-16 education sector. The DET qualification will make you eligible to apply for QTLS (Qualified Teacher Learning and Skills) status.

Level 5 Diploma In Education and Training

It is the most advanced Education and Training qualification, suitable for those wishing to take the next step in their teaching careers in the UK’s lifelong education and skills sector. The DET training course will equip you with advanced knowledge and skills to successfully plan schemes of work, deliver learning sessions, and develop learning and teaching strategies.

After completing the Level 5 DET, you can teach in various contexts, especially in adult education, community, work-based or skills sector.

What is a DTLLS qualification?

DTLLS stands for ‘Diploma in Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector’. The DTLLS qualification has been replaced by the Level 5 ‘Diploma in Education and Training (DET). DTLLS was previously the teacher training qualification for teaching in Further Education (FE).

DTLLS was the highest of the teaching qualifications and phased out with the Diploma in Education and Training (DET) qualification at QCF Level 5.

Is It Mandatory To Complete the Level 3 AET And the Level 4 CET Before Enrolling On the Level 5 DET Course?

While it is commonly perceived that getting the Level 3 and Level 4 education and training awards is necessary before enrolling on the Level 5 DET course, it’s important to note that these qualifications are not mandatory.

You can still enrol on the Level 5 DET course without completing Levels 3 and 4 with the relevant academic skills. You must:

  • have the relevant academic skills to write assignments at degree level
  • have experience in a teaching role
  • commit to the 100 hours of teaching practice

What Can I Teach with the Level 5 DET Qualification?

With the DTLLS or Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training (DET) qualification, you can teach in post-16 education and training. The DET qualification allows you to teach courses in various contexts and disciplines.

With the Level 5 DET qualification, you can teach in various settings, including private training providers, voluntary sector organisations, colleges, adult and community education, and more.

Getting Qualified Teacher Learning and Skills (QTLS) Status

You must complete the Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training (DET) qualification to achieve Qualified Teacher Learning and Skills (QTLS) Status.

If you’re new to this sector and have no prior qualification and experience, it’s recommended to take the Level 3 Award in Education and Training and Level 4 Certificate in Education and Training. However, taking these qualifications is optional and not mandatory for QTLS status.

The Level 5 DET course requires approximately 1,200 hours of study time and can typically be completed in 8-12 months. You can take this course online and complete it at your own pace. However, you must demonstrate a minimum of 100 hours of teaching practice.

What is a Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training Equivalent to?

The Level 5 DET qualification is equivalent to the Certificate of Education (CertEd). It is also considered an alternative to the Postgraduate Certificate in Education. After completing the Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training (DET), you can apply for QTLS status.

What Can I Do with a Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training?

You can pursue several career paths in the education industry with a Level 5 DET qualification, including:

  • Positions as teachers at adult education facilities, postsecondary institutions, or private training providers.
  • Providing workshops and courses and training and development positions in corporate environments.
  • Roles in programmes coordination or curriculum development, among other leadership and management roles in education.
  • Advancement into higher education, like getting a master’s or bachelor’s degree in education or a similar discipline.
  • Opportunities in educational settings for consulting or freelancing work.
  • Additional specialisation obtained by way of training courses or certifications.

What’s Next?

Once you complete the Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training (DET) course, you can apply for Qualified Teacher Learning and Skills (QTLS) status.

Take Your Education and Training Course with Hurak

Hurak offers the Level 3, 4, and 5 Education and Training Awards that make you eligible to start a rewarding career in the lifelong learning sector. Check out our education and training courses below.

Benefits of the DET / DTLLS Course

Qualified Teacher Learning and Skills (QTLS) Status
After completing the Diploma in Education and Training (DET), you become eligible for the Qualified Teacher Learning and Skills (QTLS) status.

Career Advancement
With the Level 5 DET/DTLLS qualification, you can take your teaching career to an advanced level.

Enhanced Teaching Skills
As the Level 5 DET is an advanced level teaching qualification, it equips learners with advanced teaching techniques and strategies. It helps you become a more qualified and effective educator.

Better Job Opportunities
With DET, you can explore a wider range of teaching positions that pay well. You can teach in schools, colleges, vocational training institutions, adult education centres, and more.

Contribution to Society
Teaching is one of the most respected professions and plays a crucial role in shaping the future. With DET, you become a part of this profession and make a positive impact on society as a whole.

det dtlls course benefits